Muffins equal happiness

So I saw a psychiatrist recently. I’m familiar with the process, I’ve done it before. And though I was feeling better, I knew it wasn’t necessarily a permanent thing and I kept my appointment. The doc said a few things that made it seem so easy, or sound so easy, which may have helped me realize a few things. I don’t know. I do know just seeing a doctor about my depression seemed to help make it not so bad. Maybe because it was my choice to see the doc? Not sure I have the answer to that question either.

Side note, the increased meds might be helping my pain too.

Anyways, after a month of a low dose of meds, I asked the doc about increasing my meds. He thought that was a good idea and thought it would help. Indeed, I think it has.

A strange thing happened today. I was talking to my husband and actually used the word happy to describe myself. Specifically I was happy muffins I had baked turned out delicious. It really is the small things, like muffins.

So yea, depression is a cold bitch. She invites herself, stays as long as she wants, does anything she wants, and primarily focuses on making you feel like shift, or maybe numb, or maybe guilty, or maybe just plain sad. That’s another reason why she’s so horrible, just when you think you know what she’s going to do, she changes it up on you…pulls something else out of the magic hat.

You have to take life hour by hour on the bad days and day by day on the good days. Until one day, you catch yourself daydreaming and realize you were just thinking about the future.

3 thoughts on “Muffins equal happiness

  1. Having been on meds off and on since 1984, I have come to accept that I will probably be on them for the rest of my life. Brain chemistry is such a funny thing. My hub usually tells me when it is time to get them adjusted. You are right, they do help with the pain.

    • Yea, I had that thought today actually. I’m going to know all about brain chemistry and antidepressants in a few years I bet.

      • The more you know the better you can make decisions. My new Dr wanted to try to play with my dosages, and I was able to tell him no. I would let him know when it was time for a change.

Leave a Reply

