Sick Tea

It’s weird to just have a regular old cold, I’m more familiar with the flu or bronchitis thanks to my asthma (and allergies). Between the bronchitis the end of last year and this week’s cold I have found the tea I like when I’m sick (except for near bed time).

20120207-164336.jpg

Both teas are from The Republic of Tea. The “get wellness” tea is a caffeine free herbal tea with herbs popular for immune system support. It tastes spicy, yet.. Fresh. The other tea is a black tea chai. The chai spice accents the spice in the herbal and the spices help with congestion. The caffeine in the black tea also helps to clear that mental fog that always happens with congestion. I steep for 5 minutes so it’s strong enough to taste through congestion.

If you don’t like chai? I’d go with a black tea with some nice malt flavor.

I add vanilla soy milk because I like the addition of the vanilla flavor. I also happen to be lactose intolerant AND dairy adds to mucus. Finally, a spoonful of raw honey from a local honey.

One tea bag of each in a big mug. I’m also a huge fan of an electric kettle for boiling the water.

And I posted this on my ip@d on the couch ’cause I’m lucky enough to have a cold and back spasms at the same time.

Leave a Reply

