Learning my MacBook Pro

I bought this book from Amazon. Biggest problem being that I’ve been a Windows user for years and need to know how different types of software translate between platforms. For example, I’ll be looking into more blogging software specific to the Mac platform, or I’ll continue to use Windows Live Writer and just use it in a VM of Windows. (I do recommend Windows Live Writer.) I’ve installed Blogo I think it’s called on the laptop, small amount of time to set up and the only problem is I’m unable to actually publish from the software, it will do drafts, not published posts to wordpress. You have to purchase Blogo but it does have a 21 day demo/trail period.

I’m also in the process of learning Notebook 3.0 which might be nicer than Microsoft Office OneNote for note taking. I don’t know yet. The learning curve on Notebook 3.0 seems a little steeper than one note. I’ve also looked into EverNote which is “free” in that you have to pay for a higher limit to your monthly usage. I’m using EverNote for info I want access to from either desktop, laptop, or iPhone. (Yes, EverNote has a free iPhone app.) I don’t think EverNote will work for school though. Especially when you start adding in the size of pictures/etc.

So far, the touchpad is awesome. I like how easily the laptop can be sleep’ed. It’s somewhat annoying to not have a hibernate option but that’s not a big deal. The build/form of the laptop is quite nice. It’s thinner, it’s balanced. Even holding the laptop with hand I’m not worried I might drop it. The screen is quite lovely.

Things I need to do:

1. find IM software I like or just get used to Adium

2. settle on blogging software and see if I like it more than LiveWriter

3. run through the tutorial/user guide on Notebook 3.0

4. Set up Spaces more/better for usage at school. The native multi-desktop support is lovely. Especially for a laptop.

5. Make sure I know how to properly uninstall apps on the laptop.

6. See what my options are with my Canon Rebel digital camera and the laptop.

7. Probably other things I can’t think of right now.

Leave a Reply

